horoscope matching for marriage

Different Types of Koots in The Horoscope Matching for Marriage

In India, one of the most important things for marriage is horoscope matching. It is also known as kundali matching. Irrespective of the diversity of matrimony in our country, people go through the process of horoscope matching for marriage before making the big decision. For most people, marriage is a once-in-a-lifetime decision. And that’s why it’s crucial to be sure about your life partner. Kundali matching is one of the oldest and most traditional methods to ensure this. Although many people don’t believe in the process of the horoscope matching in current times, still it is quite popular to make the final decision. 

So, what exactly is the horoscope matching for marriage? Also known as Kundali matching, it is a process where the experienced astrologer checks the horoscopes of the bride and groom before marriage to see their compatibility. After the process, they come to a final score based on which they define compatibility. The maximum score stands at 36. If a couple gets a score anything above 18, it is considered to be a good enough score to go ahead with the marriage. In this article, we will be talking about the different types of Koots that are used in the Kundali matching process. So, let’s start!

List of Eight Koots in the Kundali Matching Process

A total of 36 points are divided into the eight categories also known as Koots (qualities) — Varna, Vasya, Deena, Yoni, Gruh Maitri, Gan, Bhakoot, and Nadi. Each of these Koot under the Horoscope matching for marriage has a definite point ranging from one to eight. In the final step, all the points are added up and reach a score. You can learn about each of them below. 

Varna or Jaati 

As you know there are a total of four varnas—Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra. If both bride and groom belong to the same Varna, they will get a maximum of one point. To get a point, the varna of the groom should be higher than the bride otherwise it won’t make any sense. 


Being the second Koot of the horoscope matching for marriage, this can get a maximum of two points. With the help of this Koot, astrologers determine the control one person will have over their partner after marriage. There are a total of five vases—Chatushpada or the four-legged beings, Dwipad (two-legged beings), Jalachars (water beings), Vanachar (wild beings), and the Keets (insects). If a bride and groom are from the same vasya, they will get the maximum score of two. 


This Koot helps to get the compatibility between the birth stars of the bride and groom. These Nakshatras are further divided into 9 sub-categories—Janam, Sampat, Vipata, Kshema, Pratyari, Sadhaka, Vadha, Mitra, and Ati-Mitra Tara. A couple can get a maximum of 3 points under this Koot. 


This Koot is used to check the possibilities of sexual compatibility between the bride and groom during the Horoscope matching for marriage. This Koot has a total of 14 categories—Horse, Elephant, Sheep, Snake, Dog, Cat, Rat, Cow, Buffalo, Hare/Deer, Monkey, Tiger, Lion, and Mongoose. If two people are from the same category, they will get 4 points. 

Gruha Maitri 

For two people to live together happily, they must match on a mental level. This Koot is used to determine that only. It has a total of three categories—Friends, Neutral and Enemy. A couple can get a maximum of 5 points under this Koot. 


In the Horoscope matching for the marriage process, Gana Koot is used to check the basic nature and temperament of two people who are going to get married. A total of 27 nakshatras are divided into three categories—Devata, Manushya, and Rakshasas. 


This Koot holds seven points in the Kundali Milan process which can tell you why it is considered the second most Koot among all. Also, with the help of this Koot, astrologers check the possibilities of love between the couple after marriage. 


Health should be the highest priority of any individual. Nadi, the eighth Koot under the Horoscope matching for the marriage process, is used to determine the health and genes of the couple after marriage. There are a total of three different Nadis—Adi (Vata), Madhya (Pitta), and Antya (Kapha). If a bride and groom belong to the different Nadi, they will get a maximum of 8 points. If they have the same nadis, they will get zero points. 

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top